Preventing is better than curing

Publié le par Ecole de Journalisme et Communication de Blagnac

 

Having a cancer? Guy Bouzi would have never thought about it. Retired person still active in politics, he had the click which saved his life. He explains to us his reactions and his feelings.

 Guy is watching the video which triggered everything


 

What encourages you to do a colonoscopy?

- I was watching peacefully the news bulletin on France 2 with my wife when the journalist talked about the colon cancer. I wondered : why not me? Moreover, one of my close friends died of it recently. So I met my general practitioner who made an appointment for a colonoscopy.


What did you feel at the idea of having a cancer?

- Obviously, we always think about of the worst. You know, I am 62, I made my life. But I believe I still have things to live. Then, I had no symptom, neither unhealthy lifestyle nor heredity. Only my age could be fatal for me.


How did the colonoscopy take place?

- The preoperative preparation was very strict : diet two days before and stomach washing by medicines. D-day I almost waited for one hour in a room, then a nurse came giving me directives. In the surgical unit, I was with a doctor, another nurse and an anaesthetist. The colonoscopy itself only lasted for 15 minutes.


Six polyps was taking away from you, wasn't it?

- Exactly. By security, the doctor took six polyps off. You know, a polyp is a benign tumour which can become a dangerous cancer. Even if the result can be made immediatly and visible to the naked eye, the polyps are sent to the laboratory. Now I am still waiting for the final result.


How are you living this wait?

- I feel relatively serene. My doctor calmed me down at the end of the colonoscopy. Like I said earlier, my age can be the only risk factor. Actually, when I woke up, the only thing that I waited for was my lunch!


Finally, what do you think about the current prevention?

- To me, it's clear that it's very effective. People are sensitive when we talk to them about their health.

Nevertheless, this campaign would have been launched earlier. The cancer would not have become so serious. I don't know, I am not a doctor! But I should not probably criticize this initiative which maybe saved my life!



Remember that the colon cancer is the second most widespread cancer in France. It concerns 16 million of french, from 50 to 74 years old. Diagnosed early, the colorectal cancer can be cured in more than 9 cases on 10 . So go to do a colonoscopy, it costs nothing and it can save your future.

Just a number : 0 810 810 821



Manon Soucasse

Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article